Special flights to five countries from Saturday for the expatriates

Special Correspondents, Barta24.com, Dhaka
Picture: Collected

Picture: Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

The government has decided to launch special flights to five countries to transport migrant workers. Special flights will be operated in these countries from next Saturday (April 17).

The countries are Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Oman and Singapore. The decision was taken at a virtual meeting of the inter-ministerial government. In addition to the Ministry of Civil Aviation and Tourism, officials from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Expatriate Welfare and Overseas Employment and the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) also took part.

Meeting sources said. Special flights to four Middle Eastern countries (Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, United Arab Emirates) and Singapore will run from 6 am on Saturday (Bangladesh time).

The lockdown has created uncertainty for 20,000 migrant workers to reach their workplaces. In this context, the government has arranged this special flight.

If any Bangladeshi is stuck in these countries, they will also be able to return to the country by filling a specific form with a Corona Negative Certificate and the conditions of being in quarantine, the source said.