Tigers’ historical series victory against the Australia

Sports Desk, Barta24.com, Dhaka
ছবি: সংগৃহীত

ছবি: সংগৃহীত

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

The Tigers won the historic series by defeating Australia by 10 runs in the third T20, making the impossible possible with their incredible performance. This is for the first time Bangladesh has won a series against Australia in any version of cricket.

Bangladesh is now 3-0 up in the five-match T20 series with a hat-trick win.

Like the Tigers, Australia's batting start was also eye-catching. Nasum Ahmed hit the Australian batting line-up at the beginning. Opener Matthew Wade returned for a personal score one with a catch in Shariful's hand. Another opening batsman, Ben McDermott, tried to overcome the danger of the team when the captain returned. However, he could not add more than 35 runs to the team score.

Mitchell Marsh (51) fought with the bat when McDermott made his way to the dressing room after being bowled by Shakib Al Hasan. He also took leave from the wicket after seeing the half century. Alex Carey remained unbeaten on 20 *. However, Australia lost 4 wickets and could not make more than 117 runs.

Shariful Islam took two wickets for Bangladesh. Nasum Ahmed and Shakib Al Hasan took one wicket each.

However, the guest bowlers bowled strongly from the beginning. That is why Bangladesh stumbled upon batting at the beginning. They lost three wickets for 3 runs. Opener Mohammad Naeem (1) returned with Matthew Wade's gloves behind the wicket of Josh Hazlewood. Another opening batsman, Soumya Sarkar, returns with a Adam Lumper LBW trap.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah Riyad took the helm of the team's batting line-up in such a time of slow wickets. Both of them provided the courage to score big in the third wicket. But their pair broke up at 44 runs.

World-class all-rounder Shakib returned with just 26 runs. The young all-rounder Afif Hossain was unfortunately run out with a personal 19 runs with a hint of batting. Unable to cope with the bowling attack of the Australians, the hosts lost 6 wickets for 97 runs.

Mahmudullah Riyad hit fifty (52) with the bat at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur. Nathan Ellis scored a hat-trick in his debut match with the wickets of Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman and Mehedi Hasan in the last three balls of the innings.

Nathan Ellis took three wickets for Australia. Josh Hazlewood and Adam Jampa took two wickets each.

Short Score:

Bangladesh: 127/9, 20 overs (Shakib 28, Mahmudullah 52, Afif 19, Sohan 11; Hazlewood 2/18, Jampa 2/24, Ellis 4-0-34-3).

Australia: 117/4, 20 overs (McDermott 35, Marsh 51, Kerry 20 *; Nasum 1/19, Shakib 1/22, Shariful 2/29).

Result: Bangladesh won by 10 runs.

Series: Bangladesh leads 3-0 in five-match T20 series.

Man of the match: Mahmudullah Riyadh.