Tigers' T20 World Cup mission starts with defeat

Sports Desk
Photo Collected

Photo Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Scotland won by six runs over Bangladesh in the second match of the first round of the T20 World Cup in Muscat on Sunday.

Bangladesh's batting effort was largely subdued despite the fact that Scotland managed just 140 for 9 on a surface good for strokeplaying.

The lower middle-order was left with too much to do in the end. Needing 32 off the last two overs, Nurul Hasan and Mahmudullah Riyad both departed in the 19th over.

Saifuddin struck a four in the second delivery of the 20th over and Mahedi Hasan managed a four and a six off the fourth and fifth delivery but it was too little too late as Bangladesh fell short by six runs, reaching 134 for 7 in 20 overs. 

Earlier in the day, Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah chose to field after winning the toss against Scotland in the match.

Mahmudullah said that the dew expected in the late evening had played a part in the decision.

Soumya Sarkar has been picked ahead of the off-colour Mohammad Naim to open with Liton Das, and they will be followed by the three experienced batters - Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim - with the two finishers, Afif Hossain and Nurul Hasan, to follow.

There was no place for Nasum Ahmed, who was Player of the Series in Bangladesh's last T20I series win over New Zealand.

Scotland have opted for two spinners - legspinner Chris Greaves and Mark Watt, the left-arm fingerspinner, apart from the three-man pace attack of Josh Davey, Brad Wheal and Safyaan Sharif. They will also rely heavily on the experienced batting line-up, headlined by George Munsey, Kyle Coetzer, Matt Cross, Richie Berrington and Calum McLeod.

Bangladesh: 1 Soumya Sarkar, 2 Liton Das, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim, 5 Mahmudullah (capt), 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Scotland: 1 George Munsey, 2 Kyle Coetzer (capt), 3 Matthew Cross (wk), 4 Richie Berrington, 5 Calum MacLeod, 6 Michael Leask, 7 Chris Greaves, 8 Mark Watt, 9 Josh Davey, 10 Safyaan Sharif, 11 Brad Wheal