3 former secretaries named for proposed Evaly board

Staff Correspondent
Photo Collected

Photo Collected

  • Font increase
  • Font Decrease

Ministry of Commerce on Wednesday proposed names of three former secretaries of the government before the High Court to be selected as a member of an interim board to govern e-commerce platform Evaly.

The three former government officials are--former land secretary Maksudur Rahman Patwari, former LGRD secretary Md Rezaul Ahsan and former chairman of Land Reform Board Yakub Ali Patwari.

“The High Court may pass an order next week after reviewing the proposed names,” said Advocate Syed Mahsib Hossain, who filed and moved a writ in this regard.

On Tuesday (October 12) a High Court division bench of Justice Muhammad Khurshid Alam Sarkar observed that it is considering forming a four-member interim board to govern the e-commerce platform.

The court came up with the observations as Registrar of Joint Stock Companies and Firm (RJSC) submitted all the documents of Evaly before the court.

“As both the owners of the company are in jail, so the High Court is considering forming a four-member board with one retired judge, a former secretary, a chartered accountant and a lawyer,” said Barrister Tapos Kanti

Baul, who stood for commerce ministry, Directorate of National Consumer Rights Protection and Bangladesh Competition Commission, before the court.